Newsroom Spotlight: Elizabeth Loutfi

Elizabeth Loutfi is the Editor-in-Chief for the 2015-16 school year. 

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I am a junior studying journalism and international affairs with a minor in French. I am from Rochester, Minnesota. The best investments I’ve made in college so far is a black cat and a Chrome bag.

ElizabethLoutfi_headshot

What are you most excited for with your position as Editor-in-Chief?

I am most excited to improve on my skills both as a journalist and as a mentor. There is so much I can do with this job and this paper. I enjoy the work I do every day; grooming myself and others for what happens beyond Columbia.

What are your plans as Editor-in-Chief?

I have a few different plans that I share with Managing Editor Katherine Knott: the primary one is to always keep The Maneater relevant, both in its presence and coverage. Other plans include continuing to improve our credibility, taking home a lot of awards at the Missouri College Media Association conference in the spring and retaining our freshmen writers, designers and photographers.

What’s your favorite thing about The Maneater?

My favorite thing about The Maneater is definitely being able to be in the thick of things. I love being able to say that I know everything that’s happening on my campus and have the ability to engage others in crucial discussions.

What’s your favorite part of production night?

I’m not sure where to begin. Production makes me want to bash my head against a table while I simultaneously sing because I love it so much. I guess my favorite part has to be the home stretch to Christy Prust, our production manager, finally sending the paper off to the printer. That’s usually the time where things are the funniest.

How do you hope to help The Maneater through your position?

I want people to see the importance of having The Maneater at MU. We hold a very powerful position on this campus as the student voice. Through my position as EIC, I want to be a figure on campus people feel comfortable coming to to voice their concerns and opinions to. So far, I’ve had a couple experiences where I was able to do this.

What other interests do you have (non-journalistic or journalistic)?

Like any other journalist, I like to drink copious amounts of black coffee and stay up into the wee hours of the morning. I also enjoy playing guitar with my door shut and hoarding books. I’m reading The Help by Kathryn Stockett for the first time right now.

Leave a Reply

