Editor Spotlight: Student Outlook Editor Hailey Stolze

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I’m a sophomore vegetarian from Omaha, Nebraska. As a kid, I wrote poetry and some of my elementary school’s newsletters, as well as filmed and edited photos and videos. I’ve wanted to be a journalist since I was about 12 years old and have been working toward it ever since.

HaileyStolze_headshot

What are you most excited for with your position as Student Outlook Editor?

As Student Outlook Editor, I’m looking forward to growing a strong section of experienced beat writers and covering the 2016 presidential debates.

What are your plans as Student Outlook Editor?

My main goals as Student Outlook Editor are diversifying coverage and improving the section’s timeliness. In order to diversify coverage, I will attempt to cover topics that have been overlooked in the past and gather opinions from various sides for every article.

What’s your favorite thing about The Maneater?

I love the family environment. While I learned more at The Maneater than at any previous news outlets, the paper is also where I’ve met some of my best friends. It’s similar to my sorority. My previous editor acts as my big sister and my beat writers are like my little sisters to me. The bonding is an important aspect of writer retention.

How do you hope to help The Maneater through your position?

I’m focused on amping up our online coverage. From helping out with the on-call system to pitching out more online-focused articles, these changes will create a better outlet for more timely news and multimedia.

What other interests do you have (non-journalistic or journalistic)?

I aspire to become a multimedia journalist reporting on state politics. I’m hoping to eventually work for a news outlet that allows me to choose what forms of media I tell each story in.

Leave a Reply

