Editor Spotlight: Students Organizations Editor Waverly Colville

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I’m Waverly, a 19-year old vegetarian from a suburb of Buffalo, New York. I love drinking chai tea lattes, eating waffles with real Canadian maple syrup and covering my favorite songs on my violin. I love to travel, which has let me do crazy things like swim with dolphins in the Caribbean, climb the Great Wall of China and ride a hot air balloon over the Sonoran Desert. One day, I hope to be a foreign correspondent.

WaverlyColville_headshot

What are you most excited for with your position as Student Organizations Editor?

Student organizations are the backbone of this campus. No one is forced to join one, so everyone that’s in one is really passionate about its cause. I love the fact that I get to run the section that covers organizations that energize the student body.

What are your plans as Student Organizations Editor?

My plan is to hold those in power accountable and make the student body aware of the issues on this campus. We are in the midst of the Missouri Students Association presidential election so instead of just being a mouthpiece for each slate, we are also providing analysis of each platform. My team of writers will be going to the schools, organizations and faculty members necessary in their plans to investigate the feasibility of the slates’ platform to make sure each student casts an educated vote. Also, in light of the racial incidents and protests on MU’s campus, the section has been very active in covering social justice issues.  We are working towards rebuilding trust with social justice organizations in hopes that The Maneater will be able to fully cover them in the future.

What’s your favorite thing about The Maneater?

My favorite thing about The Maneater is that it has shaped me as a student, journalist and person. The Maneater changed me from a scared, insecure freshman who shuttered at the thought of a confrontational source to a sassy and ambitious section editor who isn’t afraid to hold those in power accountable. I’ve made my best friends in the office through bonding at 2 a.m. on production nights, arguing during heated debates in editorial meetings and navigating our way through the struggle that comes with being a student journalist.  It has defined my first two years of college and I will continue to apply what I’ve learned here after I leave.

How do you hope to help The Maneater through your position?

I hope to help The Maneater by being a reliable editor for the rest of the editorial board, providing strong content for readers and fostering the next generation of ‘Eaters to be tough reporters. I want to keep The Maneater moving forward by working hard on this year’s content but also develop a strong base of writers to continue the legacy next year.

What other interests do you have (non-journalistic or journalistic)?

I love watching documentaries, living vicariously through Blair Waldorf and dreaming of the day I become a famous rapper if journalism doesn’t quite work out.  I want to be an international multimedia journalist who is versatile enough to report on political turmoil in the Middle East one day and Paris fashion week the next.  But for now, I’m just a journalism student in the middle of Missouri who is beginning to learn how to use a camera and admires fashion through the pages of Vogue.

Leave a Reply

