Editor Spotlight: Graphics Manager Mary Hilleren

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I am a junior journalism major at MU, also pursuing my B.A. in fine arts. In high school I was the editor-in-chief of my yearbook. This is when I decided I wanted to pursue magazine design for my career. My goal to be an art director brought me to Mizzou, and my passion for graphic design prompted me to add an art degree.

MaryHilleren_Headshot

What are you most excited for with your position as Graphics Manager?

I enjoy the opportunities this position grants me. The best one would definitely be the ability to design special issue covers. This is the first chance I have ever gotten to have my illustration work published.

What are your plans as Graphics Manager?

I hope to bring quality and consistent design to the paper’s graphics. I also hope that I can pass on helpful tips and design techniques to new staffers.

What’s your favorite thing about The Maneater?

The freedom I have to create what I choose.

What’s your favorite graphic you’ve designed so far?

The special issue Homecoming cover is my favorite piece of design from this semester so far. I carried out the theme in an illustration that I feel is eye-catching and unique, showcasing the tradition of The Maneater.

How do you hope to help The Maneater through your position?

I hope to leave behind underclassmen who are able to design appeal work, efficiently and under deadline.

What other interests do you have (non-journalistic or journalistic)?

My graphic design degree has led me toward many other fine art classes. After taking fibers, watercolor and sculpture, I have developed new skills and ways of perceiving art. These classes have broadened my skill set for the publication design world.

Leave a Reply

