Letter from the Editor Jared Kaufman

Jared Kaufman was elected as editor in chief for the 2016-17 school year. George Roberson and Christy Prust will join him on the exec board as managing editors.

I’d rather not begin my first letter from the editor with a cliche introduction about having had my sights on running for editor-in-chief of The Maneater for a while. Because the first time I suggested it to a friend on staff, we both laughed it off. The thought did stick with me, though, for more than a year. As I progressed from being a reporter to a copy editor to a copy chief, ideas for improvements were always tugging at me. So, I thought, why not try to make them happen?

The product of late-night chats, dinner brainstorming sessions and coffee shop meetings, my exec board formed with current copy chief George Roberson and production manager Christy Prust as managing editors. We crafted a 40-page platform of our ideas.

I’m incredibly honored to have been elected as the editor-in-chief of this award-winning paper, and I’m excited to work with the managing editors and editorial board to build off the work done by the 2015-16 team.

Every leadership team needs to have some buzzwords in their pocket; ours are modern, sleek and relevant. To this end, we’re reimagining the cover like a magazine front – a full-page visual with overlaid teasers. We’re refocusing our news coverage to center around campus and news that affects MU students specifically. Motivated by the ideals of controlled failure and sustainable success, we’re beefing up our expectations and policies to create more of a culture of professionalism in our newsroom. Professionalism, however, is not a buzzword. In the words of attorney Wayne Jarvis from “Arrested Development” (one of the greatest shows in the history of television), “I use one adjective to describe myself…”

And a little note about me: I’m a sophomore studying journalism, international relations and Spanish, originally from around Minneapolis, Minnesota, and I’m just finishing up my semester as a reporter for the Columbia Missourian. In my negligible amounts of free time, I enjoy reading, eating good food, and exploring cities’ coffee shop scenes.

One thought on “Letter from the Editor Jared Kaufman

Leave a Reply

