Meet Campus Life Editor Kyra Haas

Kyra - Campus LifeTell us a bit about yourself.

I am a sophomore studying Journalism and Political Science. I’m from Lawrence, Kansas and am a recovering Jayhawk fan. I’m always down for a good cup of coffee and usually willing to settle for a mediocre one.

What are you most looking forward to about your position?

I’m excited to test drive the newest revival of a Campus Life section. I had a lot of flexibility in regard to how I decided beats for my section, and I am looking forward to working with my writers, fellow editors and exec to further shape Campus Life into something that accurately portrays life on campus.

What’s your favorite memory from your time at The Maneater so far?

I don’t have one specific favorite, but I loved the late nights when the whiteboard got covered in ridiculous quotes and I ate Sour Patch Kids for dinner. So, almost every weekday.

What’s your favorite piece of work you’ve done for The Maneater?

I got to write a feature about a MU professor who is using traditional Indian Ayurvedic medicine and green nanotechnology to work toward curing cancer. I don’t know if it was my best written piece or not, but all of my sources were super responsive, and I got so much interesting information, so it’s a winner in my book.

How do you like to spend your free time?

I enjoy listening to podcasts, especially “This American Life,” “Invisibilia” and “Casefile True Crime.” I also spend my time engaged in other grandmotherly activities, such as trying to crochet, talking to my plants and attending Crafternoon on campus.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

Hopefully I’ll be sitting in a coffee shop in a city somewhere, writing for a newspaper and drinking a venti caramel macchiato.

Leave a Reply

