Meet Copy Chief Nancy Coleman

Nancy - CopyTell us a bit about yourself.

Hello! I’m Nancy Coleman, the current copy chief at The Maneater. I’m a sophomore studying journalism and political science, and I’m originally from Atlanta, Georgia, but I currently live in St. Louis. I love musicals, Bruce Springsteen, the oxford comma, and long walks on the beach.

What are you most looking forward to about your position?

I’m looking forward to doing more hands-on work with writers when they come in to edit their stories. This isn’t traditionally the role of the copy chief (I guess I’m supposed to be the one who overlooks the copy editors, who do that), but I love meeting new people and working with other writers on their stories, so I’m hoping to continue editing with our staff when they come to the newsroom.

What’s your favorite memory from your time at The Maneater so far?

My favorite memory would have to be the entirety of last fall, culminating in the resignations and protests on campus in November. This was the first time I really got to report, write, and pitch my own stories, and working with the rest of our incredibly dedicated and hardworking staff those few months covering the campus unrest and its aftermath really confirmed for me that this is something I want to do for the rest of my life.

What’s your favorite piece of work you’ve done for The Maneater?

The biggest adrenaline rush I’ve had was reporting on the events in November, so that was fun. I also really enjoyed interviewing Rebirth Brass Band for our Roots N Blues issue (my first article!) and several Missouri state representatives for an article on a proposed bill regulating diversity of the Board of Curators.

How do you like to spend your free time?

In my free time, I binge-watch The West Wing and pretend I’m C.J. Cregg.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

I’m either going to run for president or write about the president. I haven’t quite decided which yet.

Leave a Reply

