Meet Editor-in-Chief Jared Kaufman

Jared - Editor In ChiefTell us a bit about yourself.

I’m Jared, from near Minneapolis, Minnesota. Previously at The Maneater, I’ve been a copy chief and staff writer, and I reported for the Missourian last semester. I’m majoring in journalism/magazine writing, with a little international studies, English, business, and a Spanish minor thrown in on the side.

What are you most looking forward to about your position?

My Exec board and I have come up with some great ideas for The Maneater, and I’m looking forward to setting a new course for the paper — a modern, sleek, relevant resource for breaking news, in-depth features, and compelling design. (Yes, everyone has to have their buzzwords.) I’m also really excited for this year’s Editorial Board, and I think our staff has a lot of potential.

What’s your favorite memory from your time at The Maneater so far?

Getting to be creative for MOVE Magazine last fall was one of my favorite times I’ve had at the paper so far. I got to experiment and push my writing. We published my passive-aggressive gift guide, a pun-filled explanation of the difference between “doughnut” and “donut,” and a Shakespearean sonnet I wrote about the mediocrity of Shakespeare’s Pizza (sorry, fam).

What’s your favorite piece of work you’ve done for The Maneater?

In November 2015, I reported a piece about how Concerned Student 1950 protests would affect incoming students, specifically those students on campus tours. Going above the breaking news, I enjoyed being able to take a more analytical stance in the midst of campus change.

How do you like to spend your free time?

Outside of journalism, I enjoy travelling, biking, and buying and reading books. I’ve also played Simon Says led by a guy actually named Simon.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

In a mirror. Well… My “pleasing the family at Thanksgiving” answer is: Hopefully, I’ll have graduated college and be in the Peace Corps or another international travel program. If that doesn’t work out, I can see myself working at a magazine or book publishing company in Washington, D.C., specializing in foreign policy, the Middle East, or food.

Leave a Reply

