Meet Student Politics Editor Emily Gallion

Emily - Student PoliticsTell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a sci fi fan from Ohio who takes pride in being able to eat an entire tub of ice cream in one sitting. I have an identical twin sister who is also majoring in journalism at Ohio University. At the end of last summer, I got sick and slept through the deadline to apply for Student Outlook. I ended up covering MSA completely by accident. Now, here I am.

What are you most looking forward to about your position?

I am excited to dig in and define Student Politics as a section. This first year will set the tone for the ones to come. We need to build trust in organizations we’ve neglected and establish more assertive, investigative coverage in others.

What’s your favorite memory from your time at The Maneater so far?

One time former Student Organizations Editor Waverly Colville and I staked out a closed-door MSA meeting until after 1 a.m. The Senate had been discussing the potential impeachment of BEC Chairwoman Emma Henderson in a meeting earlier that day. We had gone down to the newsroom to write the article. At midnight, a crowd of MSA senators walked past the newsroom and locked themselves in the Office of Student Conduct, so we waited to ambush them when they emerged, then stayed up to finish the story.

What’s your favorite piece of work you’ve done for The Maneater?

My favorite article is the one I wrote about five students who ended up on the MSA Senate elections ballot without actually signing up to run. We had heard from one former ‘eater that he hadn’t entered his name to run, so I emailed everyone from the ballot and it turned out not to be an isolated incident. We still have no idea who submitted their names.

How do you like to spend your free time?

Seriously, when is the last time a Maneater had free time? (I’m only half joking.) I enjoy really long walks, online shopping, and watching superhero movies.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

I hope to own a dog and cover state or local politics for whoever will hire me.

Leave a Reply

