Meet University News Editor Claire Mitzel

Claire - University NewsTell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a sophomore from Virginia, and I’m double-majoring in journalism and political science. I love history, puns and Abraham Lincoln. You can usually find me eating mac and cheese or talking about how much I love it.

What are you most looking forward to about your position?

Last year, University News played a big role in covering the events of the fall. This year will continue to be a big year in higher education reporting; between the one year anniversary of Tim Wolfe’s resignation and the hiring of new administrators to the effects of lower enrollment, we won’t have a shortage of news to cover, and I can’t wait to see what awesome content we’ll produce this year.

What’s your favorite memory from your time at The Maneater so far?

I don’t have one single favorite memory, but my favorite moments have been getting to know and become such good friends with everyone on staff; spending hours in a cramped newsroom has a special way of bringing people together.

What’s your favorite piece of work you’ve done for The Maneater?

I spent months working on a longform piece about former UM System President Tim Wolfe’s hiring, and while it was a very long and slow process, it ended up turning out to be one of the best stories I’ve ever written. Most stories about Wolfe focused, understandably, on the last couple months of his presidency before his resignation, but nothing had been written about his hiring. It ended up turning into a bigger story than it was originally thought to be, and I learned a lot about Wolfe and the inner workings of the 2011 presidential search.

How do you like to spend your free time?

I spend a lot of my free time reading and writing (What sort of journalist would I be if I didn’t?). I also enjoy spending time outdoors, making mac and cheese, and watching baseball.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

In five years, I see myself waiting for sources to call me back while eating mac and cheese. So not much will be different from now. On a more serious note, I hope that I’ll be working for a daily newspaper doing some sort of investigative journalism.

Leave a Reply

