Meet Campus Projects Editor Tessa Weinberg

Tessa - ProjectsTell us a bit about yourself.

I’m be a sophomore at Mizzou where I’m majoring in journalism and film studies. I’m the Projects editor at The Maneater and first started out as a beat writer under the now-defunct Student Outlook section. I’m originally from Los Angeles, where I spent this past summer interning at The Los Angeles Times. When not reading long reads, you can probably find me eating avocados or watching docuseries.

What are you most looking forward to about your position?

I’m thrilled to be continuing my role as Projects editor because of the untapped potential our section has to offer. Our attempts to expand our multimedia coverage will help enrich the paper as a whole. My position also allows me to explore unique ways to tell a story as we experiment with video, audio, graphics, code and various online tools, which allows a lot of room for creativity and fostering collaboration with other student media outlets.

What’s your favorite memory from your time at The Maneater so far?

My favorite memory is sleeping in the newsroom one night last fall. We had been up until about 4 a.m. working on pieces during last year’s numerous walkouts and resignations, and decided to just hunker down on some rolling chairs rather than trek home. While stressful at the time, it’s now a fond memory for me that represented not only a quick respite, but one of the times I felt closest with everyone on staff.

What’s your favorite piece of work you’ve done for The Maneater?

While the response we got from the “Historic Fall” timeline last fall was huge, my favorite piece would have to be the story I wrote on a topless rally that marched through campus. I wrote that during one of my very first weeks at Mizzou, which made it an interesting introduction to campus and Columbia. Plus, it was a piece that put me outside of my comfort zone and facilitated interactions with people I probably wouldn’t have met otherwise.

How do you like to spend your free time?

When I’m not staring at a computer screen all day, I especially love to go hiking. Back home, you can find me at Griffith Park almost every weekend hiking the dusty trails overlooking Los Angeles, the Griffith Observatory and the Hollywood sign. I also really enjoy watching films and documentaries. If you have any good recommendations, let me know!

Where do you see yourself in five years?

In five years I would like to be working at a news outlet as a metro reporter, hopefully working with multimedia in some regard as well.

Leave a Reply

