Meet MOVE Editor Katie Rosso

Katie - MOVETell us a bit about yourself.

I’m Katie and I have been the MOVE editor since spring semester of the 2015-2016 school year. I like magazines, cats and I am always eating some kind of sour candy. I’m from Las Vegas, and weather constantly confuses me, especially the ever-changing weather that Missouri is always throwing at us. I’m a huge Gilmore Girls nerd and I’ve watched all the seasons 6 times over (thanks, Netflix).

What are you most looking forward to about your position?

I was MOVE editor last semester as well, and I’m really looking forward to building MOVE’s legacy. We’ve hired over 20 people this semester and they’re all so incredible and promising. I can’t wait to start putting their content out into the world and letting people see all the great stuff MOVE has planned for this semester. We’re revamping almost everything about the magazine, and my goal is that by the end of my tenure as MOVE editor, MOVE is hands down the go-to campus magazine. It’s been around for 14 years now and it’s time that all of campus is able to really see what MOVE can do.

What’s your favorite memory from your time at The Maneater so far?

There have been so many memories from my time at The Maneater/MOVE that I will always remember. From late, late hysterical production nights to the first time I saw my staff page on the website, The Maneater is an incredible place to experience journalism with people who are as passionate about it as you. At risk of sounding like someone signing a yearbook, there is nothing quite like The Maneater, and I am so excited to make more memories with these people that have unequivocally become my best friends.

What’s your favorite piece of work you’ve done for The Maneater?

My favorite piece of work I’ve done for The Maneater is actually one of the first stories I did when I was a staff writer. It was about Tim Gunn coming to campus as a speaker, and as an avid “Project Runway” fan and a Tim Gunn lover, I emailed the Orgs editor at the time, Waverly Colville, like 2 months before the event to ensure I could be the one that covered the story. I interviewed two previous Project Runway candidates and a few attendees at the events, and even though I didn’t get the interview with Gunn, I thought the story was one of my best.

How do you like to spend your free time?

I don’t often get a ton of free time, but when I do, I write books (that will never go anywhere), read and make sassy comments about television shows to myself in my apartment. I also spend a lot of time cooking and baking, but that’s mostly because I’m super passionate about eating. When I’m not doing that, you can probably find me somewhere buying candles.

Leave a Reply

