Meet Opinion Editor Kasey Carlson

Kasey - OpinionTell us a bit about yourself.

I’m born and raised in Chicago. I’m a White Sox fan, not a Cubs fan. I’ve wanted to be a journalist since I was 11. I worked for a Chicago Tribune teen paper through high school and am at Mizzou to get the best journalism degree out there.

What are you most looking forward to about your position?

I want to bring diversity to the opinions section. I want views to challenge readers and to make people think about their own beliefs and their everyday lives. I’m also excited to work with the amazing staff.

What’s your favorite memory from your time at The Maneater so far?

My favorite memory was seeing the reactions to the first editorial I wrote. It’s always exciting to see your writing get feedback from the general public.

What’s your favorite piece of work you’ve done for The Maneater?

I have a short Maneater history, so the editorial mentioned above, the eulogy to downtown Columbia.

How do you like to spend your free time?

I like to spend my free time at home, Lakota Coffee, and the second floor of the Student Center.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

In five years I’ll hopefully be living and working in Chicago and not living off of ramen noodles. I would love to work in print but am open to anything.

Leave a Reply

